Holiday Closures and Collection Delays

 City of Johnston Schedule of Holiday Closures
The following are dates that City holidays will be observed. City Hall and other City offices and facilities are not open on these holidays. View the holiday collection delays from Metro Waste Authority.

City Hall, Public Works, Crown Point Community Center Office Closures are listed below (Trash/Recycling Collection Delays are also indicated.)

  • New Year's Day: Monday, Jan. 2, 2023
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, Jan. 16, 2023
  • Presidents Day: Monday, Feb. 20, 2023
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 29, 2023 (Garbage/recycling delayed one day)
  • Fourth of July: Tuesday, Jul. 4, 2023  (Garbage/recycling delayed one day)
  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 4, 2023  (Garbage/recycling delayed one day) 
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, Nov. 23, 2023
  • Thanksgiving: Friday, Nov. 24, 2023
  • Christmas: Monday, Dec. 25, 2023  (Garbage/recycling delayed one day) 
  • Christmas: Tuesday, Dec. 26, 2023  (Garbage/recycling delayed one day) 

Johnston Public Library Holiday Closures

  • New Year's: Saturday, Dec. 31, 2022, close at 4 p.m.
  • New Year's Day: Sunday, Dec. 1, 2023
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, Jan. 16, 2023
  • Presidents Day: Monday, Feb. 20, 2023
  • Easter: Sunday, Apr. 9, 2023
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 29, 2023
  • Fourth of July: Tuesday, Jul. 4, 2023 
  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 4, 2023  
  • Veterans Day: Friday, Nov. 10, 2023
  • Thanksgiving: Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2023, close at 4 p.m.
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, Nov. 23, 2023
  • Thanksgiving: Friday, Nov. 24, 2023
  • Christmas: Monday, Dec. 25, 2023 
  • Christmas: Tuesday, Dec. 26, 2023  
  • New Year's Eve: Sunday, Dec. 31, 2023, close at 4 p.m.
  • New Year's Day: Monday, Jan. 1, 2024

For non-emergency issues during City office closures, please call (515) 278-2345. In the case of an emergency, always call 911.